What's Up What We Do Who We Are
Aca Driving Marketing Success
Transparency in digital advertising – more than a buzzword
May 27th, 2014

By Michael Greene, Director of Research, AudienceScience

Michael Greene

Michael Greene

In my role running Research at AudienceScience, I spend a lot of time talking to advertisers. While in most cases, their challenges, pain points, strategies, and goals broadly differ, the one term I am now consistently hearing out of the mouths of advertisers globally is “transparency.” From where I sit, “transparency” is the advertising buzzword of 2014 and advertisers are actively seeking how they can get more of it.

Not that advertisers asking for transparency is something new. Nearly all advertisers have some guarantee of transparency written into their agency contracts and smart advertisers have long known that transparency is essential to understanding what’s working, what isn’t, and how their organizations can improve their media spending.

But for many advertisers, gaining greater transparency has taken on a higher degree of urgency as advertisers’ sense that they are getting less of it than ever before. Why is that? The increasing role of digital advertising in the media mix is the primary driver. As advertisers invest more and more in digital media, the need to apply rigorous auditing and verification practices only increases. Unfortunately, traditional methods used to ensure advertising transparency and effectiveness don’t easily translate into the digital space. Why not?

Michael Greene will be a keynote speaker at the ACA’s executive forum: Where is your online ad money really going? Transparency, verification and auditing. The forum is taking place on June 11 in Toronto.

  • Complex digital “supply chains” make it hard to understand where your dollar is going. It is impossible to have transparency without understanding who you are paying, how much you are paying them, and what you are paying them for. In traditional media, few third parties sit between the advertiser and the consumer (typically just the agency and the publisher/media owner), but in digital a complex chain of intermediaries makes it harder to actually understand where the advertiser’s dollar is going. In fact, a study by the Boston Consulting Group found that advertisers often deal with 20 intermediaries in order to run a digital ad.
  • Arbitrage-based business models limit price transparency. While some components of your digital media buys charge transparent fees for their part in the process (e.g. ad serving fees), many media intermediaries rely on opaque, arbitrage-based pricing models. In these cases, intermediaries like agency trading desks and ad networks buy media from ad exchanges and resell it to AORs and advertisers at higher fixed-CPMs, with no transparency into the actual cost of media.
  • Campaign execution is often rife with inefficiency due to technology limitations. In addition to fees paid to a complex web of intermediaries, digital advertisers also need to be wary of numerous inefficiencies that can seriously impact the effectiveness of their campaigns. From massive over-frequency, to bot traffic, to out-of-geo ad delivery, conventional digital ad serving technologies typically do little to protect advertisers from serving ad impressions that simply don’t meet the advertiser’s basic business rules.

Although digital has long been marketed to advertisers as unmatched in its accountability, measurability, and transparency, the experience of many digital advertisers today shows quite the opposite. If digital advertising is ever going to live up to expectations for advertisers, delivering full transparency would be a good place to start. However, the ecosystem today is not built for this critical advertiser need. Thankfully though, advertisers have the power to change this. As the source of every dollar spent in the digital advertising ecosystem, advertisers can create substantially greater efficiency by demanding full transparency, simplifying their supply chains by owning technology directly, and adopting auditing practices that look beyond just price to understand if ad impressions are truly meeting basic business requirements. Advertisers can get better digital advertising results: they just need to start by shaking up a broken ecosystem.

Michael Greene
Michael is Director of Research and Marketing Strategy for AudienceScience, where he supports its global enterprise technology business and helps clients navigate the changing digital media buying landscape. He joined AudienceScience in October 2012 from Forrester Research. At Forrester, Michael led its sell-side ad technology and digital media research and conducted extensive research and forecasting on audience data management, programmatic buying, and ad technology. Prior to Forrester, Michael served in the Media and Marketing practice at Jupiter Research. Michael holds a degree in Government from Dartmouth College.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Aca Driving Marketing Success
 
La transparence en publicité numérique – plus qu’une expression à la mode
mai 27th, 2014

Par Michael Greene, directeur de la recherche, AudienceScience

Michael Greene

Michael Greene

Dans le cadre de mon travail à AudienceScience, je parle souvent aux annonceurs. Bien que la plupart du temps, leurs questionnements, sources d’irritation, stratégies et objectifs diffèrent de l’un à l’autre, un mot revient régulièrement lors de ces conversations : « transparence ». De mon point de vue, c’est le mot à la mode de 2014 et les annonceurs se demandent comment en obtenir plus.

Cette course à la transparence n’est pas nouvelle. La plupart des annonceurs ont déjà inclus dans leurs contrats d’agence une certaine clause de transparence. Ils savent depuis longtemps que cette transparence est essentielle pour identifier ce qui marche, comprendre ce qui ne marche pas et déterminer comment leur organisation peut optimiser ses investissements médias.

Cela dit, la question de la transparence est devenue plus pressante que jamais pour plusieurs annonceurs qui ont l’impression d’en obtenir de moins en moins. Pourquoi? À cause du rôle de plus en plus important joué par la publicité numérique dans leur mix média. Plus les annonceurs investissent dans la publicité Internet, plus se fait sentir le besoin d’avoir recours à des pratiques d’audit et de vérification rigoureuses. Malheureusement, les méthodes traditionnelles destinées à assurer la transparence et l’efficacité de la publicité s’appliquent difficilement à l’espace numérique.


Michael Greene sera l’un des conférenciers principaux lors du Forum exécutif de l’ACA, dont le thème est Où va vraiment l’argent de vos pubs en ligne? Vérification, transparence et audits. L’événement aura lieu le 11 juin à Toronto.


  1. La complexité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement numérique rend plus difficile de savoir où chaque dollar est dépensé. Il est impossible d’avoir la transparence sans savoir qui, combien et pourquoi on paie. Dans les médias traditionnels, il y a peu de tiers intercalés entre l’annonceur et le consommateur (en règle générale, il n’y a que l’agence et le propriétaire du média). Dans les médias numériques, c’est une tout autre histoire. La complexité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement rend plus difficile de comprendre où va l’argent de l’annonceur. Une étude effectuée par la firme Boston Consulting Group a montré que ces derniers doivent souvent traiter avec 20 intermédiaires avant de faire paraître une annonce numérique.
  2. Les modèles d’affaires basés sur l’arbitrage rendent les prix plus opaques. Si les frais facturés par certaines composantes de vos achats médias numériques sont tout à fait transparents (ex. : les serveurs d’annonces), plusieurs intermédiaires appliquent des grilles tarifaires opaques et fondées sur l’arbitrage. Des intermédiaires tels que les bureaux d’achat d’agence et les réseaux d’annonces achètent leur média dans des bourses publicitaires et le revendent aux agences média ou aux annonceurs à des coûts par mille majorés, sans rien révéler des coûts réels.
  3. La technologie limite souvent l’efficacité des annonces. En plus de se méfier des frais payés à un réseau complexe de tierces parties, les annonceurs doivent aussi porter attention à des déficiences technologiques qui menacent l’efficacité de leurs campagnes numériques. Qu’il s’agisse de diffusion à outrance, de présence des robots Internet ou de diffusion hors des limites géographiques prévues, la technologie des serveurs publicitaires ne fait à peu près rien pour éviter aux annonceurs des impressions publicitaires ne répondant tout simplement pas à leurs critères de base.

Bien que la publicité numérique ait été vendue en vantant son imputabilité hors pair, sa facilité de mesure et sa transparence, l’expérience vécue par plusieurs annonceurs montre qu’il en est tout autre. Pour que la publicité numérique puisse un jour répondre aux attentes, il faudra qu’elle commence par adopter des pratiques plus transparentes. Le système actuel toutefois, n’est pas bâti autour de ce besoin crucial des annonceurs. Heureusement, ils ont le pouvoir de changer la situation. En tant que source de tout dollar dépensé dans l’écosystème de la publicité numérique, ils peuvent en accroître l’efficacité éventuelle en réclamant une transparence complète, en simplifiant leurs chaînes d’approvisionnement – soit en devenant propriétaires de la technologie, soit en adoptant des pratiques d’audit qui ne se limitent pas à l’analyse du coût de revient afin de déterminer si une annonce diffusée correspond réellement à leurs besoins d’affaires. Les annonceurs peuvent-ils obtenir plus de résultats de leurs campagnes? Sans doute, mais ils doivent d’abord secouer un écosystème qui ne marche pas.


Michael Greene
Michael Greene est directeur de la recherche et de la stratégie marketing pour la firme AudienceScience, où il administre les comptes de technologie mondiaux de l’entreprise en aidant les clients à s’y retrouver dans le monde en mutation des achats média numériques. Il s’est joint à AudienceScience en octobre 2012, en provenance de Forrester Research où il gérait ses services de technologie de vente et la recherche en média numérique. Il y a aussi effectué de nombreuses études et analyses prévisionnelles à partir des données d’audiences, des achats programmes et de la technologie publicitaire. Auparavant il a travaillé dans les domaines des médias et du marketing chez Jupiter Research. Michael détient un diplôme en administration publique du Dartmouth College.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 
 

 

Nous joindre  |  Recherche Plan du site  |  Politique de confidentialité