ACA champions the causes of marketers through our government and industry advocacy efforts.

We take the lead on behalf of our members to ensure marketers do business in a market that is transparent and accountable, while protecting their right to advertise efficiently, effectively and responsibly.

We regularly provide input to key governmental bodies, including the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), Competition Bureau, Office of the Privacy Commissioner and House of Commons committees, as well as other government departments at the federal and provincial levels. Our government and regulatory relations activities and policies are based on key principles:

  • Marketers must behave responsibly
  • Marketers have a right to freedom of speech
  • Marketers make an important contribution to the Canadian economy and culture
  • Marketers support a vibrant, competitive economy

ACA believes in self-regulation as the optimum model for the advertising industry as it safeguards both consumers and businesses without stifling innovation or hindering the economy. ACA has played a key role in establishing advertising self-regulatory bodies to represent the interests of the public and the industry, such as:

ACA’s advocacy work in Ottawa with various governmental and regulatory organizations has saved our company real dollars in our media budgets. It is under the radar work that usually goes unnoticed but is very important for advertisers.

Patrick Dickinson, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Brand Strategy – Hudson’s Bay Company

Have a question?

To access the ACA’s extensive confidential consultation services, contact:

Judy Davey
Vice President, Media Policy and Marketing Capabilities
(416) 964-2791 / 1-800-565-0109 / jdavey@acaweb.ca.

Free-of-charge and exclusive to ACA Members.

L’ACA défend la cause des annonceurs par ses représentations auprès des gouvernements et des organismes de l’industrie.

Nous prenons l’initiative au nom de nos membres pour qu’ils puissent opérer dans un marché transparent et imputable, tout en défendant leur droit d’annoncer efficacement, de manière responsable et à coût raisonnable.

Nous intervenons régulièrement devant les organismes gouvernementaux essentiels, comme le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC), le Bureau de la concurrence, le Commissariat à la vie privée et les comités des communes, ainsi que d’autres services gouvernements fédéraux et provinciaux. Nos activités de représentations gouvernementales et réglementaires se fondent sur les principes suivants :

  • Les annonceurs doivent agir de manière responsable
  • Les annonceurs ont le droit d’annoncer librement
  • Les annonceurs contribuent de façon importante à l’économie et à la culture canadiennes
  • Les annonceurs appuient une économie dynamique et concurrentielle

L’ACA croit que l’autorégulation est le meilleur modèle possible pour l’industrie de la publicité. Elle protège à la fois les consommateurs et les entreprises sans nuire à l’innovation ou à l’économie. L’ACA a joué un rôle clé dans la création d’organismes d’autorégulation de la publicité capables de défendre les intérêts du public et de l’industrie, comme :

En nous représentant auprès de divers organismes gouvernementaux ou de régulation à Ottawa, l’ACA nous a permis d’épargner des sommes bien réelles dans nos budgets média. Ce genre de travail n’attire pas souvent l’attention, mais il est très important pour les annonceurs.

Patrick Dickinson, Vice-président principal, marketing institutionnel et stratégie de marque, Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson

Des questions?

Communiquez avec Marieke Dufresne

Directrice, Services aux membres
416-964-3805 poste 1005 / 1-800-565-0109

Ces services s’adressent en exclusivité aux membres de l’ACA et sont offerts sans frais additionnels.