What's Up What We Do Who We Are
Aca Driving Marketing Success
ACA And ACTRA Join Appeal Of CRTC’s Super Bowl Ruling
  • Associations granted intervenor status in Bell Media/NFL challenge
  • Federal Court of Appeal to hear arguments on CRTC Sim Sub ban

Toronto, May 1, 2017: Having intervened before the CRTC, opposing the decision to ban simultaneous substitution (simsub) during the Super Bowl, the Association of Canadian Advertisers (ACA) and the Alliance of Canadian Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA) have now been granted intervenor status in the Federal Court of Appeal case between Bell Media, the NFL and the Attorney General.

At issue is the CRTC’s order (effective Feb. 5, 2017) banning the replacement of U.S. ads with ones made in Canada during the Super Bowl.

“This decision denies marketers of a key opportunity to access Canadian consumers,” said Ron Lund, President and CEO, ACA. “Of greater concern, it places a long-standing and successful CRTC cornerstone policy that benefits the entire broadcasting system, in jeopardy.”

For Canadian performers, the decision will result in fewer work opportunities. The removal of a policy that ensures Canadian advertising dollars stay in Canada means less revenue for reinvestment back into Canadian content production. It also reduces the market for commercials starring Canadian performers.

“This decision by the CRTC undermines a foundational part of Canada’s film and television sector,” said Stephen Waddell, ACTRA’s National Executive Director. “We’re intervening to ensure the creative sector has a voice in this important appeal.”

 
  • Our Members

  • What Members Say

    David Allard on how Campbell’s keeps current with what is happening in the broadcast marketplace

    Campbell Company of Canada
    David Allard Senior Brand Manager

    ACA Broadcast Committee meetings are a great way for any marketer who has media responsibilities to keep current with what is happening in the broadcast marketplace. Through discussions with your peers on many diverse areas such as production, talent fees, media trends, audience measurement, CRTC issues and so forth, attendance at the meetings amounts to a refresher course in broadcast media every time. I would recommend it for any ACA member.

    Read More All Member Comments

Aca Driving Marketing Success
L’ACA et l’ACTRA se joignent à la poursuite contestant la décision du CRTC sur le Super Bowl
  • Les deux organisations obtiennent le droit d’intervenir dans la cause Bell Média/NFL
  • La cour d’appel fédérale entendra leurs arguments contre l’interdiction de la substitution simultanée des annonces décrétée par le CRTC

Toronto, 1er mai 2017: Après être intervenues devant le CRTC pour s’opposer à sa décision d’interdire la substitution simultanée des annonces pendant la diffusion dans les réseaux anglophones du Super Bowl, l’Association canadienne des annonceurs (ACA) et l’Alliance of Canadian Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA) viennent d’obtenir le statut d’intervenants dans la poursuite opposant Bell Média et la NFL au solliciteur général du Canada.

La cause porte sur la décision du CRTC d’interdire, à compter du 5 février 2017, la substitution des annonces américaines par des annonces produites au Canada durant la diffusion du Super Bowl en anglais au pays.

« Cette décision prive les annonceurs d’une occasion essentielle de s’adresser aux consom-mateurs canadiens », déclare Ron Lund, président et chef de la direction de l’ACA. « Pire, elle remet en question une politique établie depuis longtemps qui profite à l’ensemble de notre système de radiodiffusion. »

Cette décision réduira les possibilités d’engage-ments pour les artistes canadiens. L’élimination de la politique assurant que les budgets publicitaires canadiens soient dépensés au Canada entraînera aussi une baisse des revenus à réinvestir dans la production de contenus canadiens et restreindra le marché des annonces publicitaires mettant en vedette des artistes canadiens.

« La décision du CRTC s’attaque aux fondements mêmes du secteur canadien de la production cinématographique et télévisuelle », s’exclame Stephen Waddel, directeur général national de l’ACTRA. « Nous nous engageons dans cette lutte pour nous assurer que la voix des créateurs sera entendue. »

 
  • Nos Membres

  • Adhérer à L’ACA

  • Témoignages Des Membres

    Yvon Savaria montre comment les programmes éducatifs de l’ACA ont profité à Peintures décoratives AkzoNobel Canada.

    Commentaires des membres