What's Up What We Do Who We Are
Aca Driving Marketing Success
  What's Up
 
 
March 29th, 2017

Matthew Chung, Manager, Communications and Content

It was 100 years ago today, March 29, 1917, that the Association of Canadian Advertisers was incorporated after receiving its Letters Patent in Toronto.

It was a milestone day for the association, which traces its roots to a meeting in 1914 of 11 advertisers who wanted to affect changes in the advertising industry, to ensure a fair and transparent marketplace for consumers and a level playing field for marketers. (more…)


March 23rd, 2017

Jonathan Davids

Jonathan Davids

Jonathan Davids, Founder and CEO, Influicity

A YouTube user you’ve never heard of may be the perfect pitch person for your brand. Just ask Jonathan Davids, founder of Influicity, a platform that advertisers can use to source, collaborate and run campaigns with social influencers. Just what is an influencer, you ask? They run the gamut from a 20-something who makes DIY-themed videos and has 3 million YouTube followers to a comedian with a large following on Vine right up to an A-list Hollywood celebrity. The key is their followings look to them, rather than brands, to help inform their purchasing decisions.

In this article, re-published below with Davids’ permission, he takes a look at the growing use of influencers as brand ambassadors and provides 4 best-practices for ambassador programs.

Revlon made some news recently, adding to its growing slate of high profile ambassadors. Until recently, this slate included traditional celebs and beauty gurus. The company has now added a Disney star and several YouTubers, who will be promoting Revlon products across social and traditional media. What do these new additions have in common? They have big social media audiences. (more…)


March 2nd, 2017

Gavin McGarry

Gavin McGarry

Matthew Chung, Manager, Communications and Content

Today, social media remains, rightly, a top priority for marketers, but the rules of engagement on the major platforms are constantly evolving.

As Gavin McGarry, ‎President at Jumpwire Media, put it, “It’s like 1999 again [when it became essential for brands to have a website presence]. Brands have to have a social media presence. And it’s really difficult.”

At a recent ACA Webinar, McGarry took attendees on a tour of today’s social media challenges and opportunities then laid out best practices, insights and hacks they could use to improve their strategy. The following are just some of the highlights from the hour-long session. (more…)


February 23rd, 2017

Rob Young

Rob Young

Rob Young, SVP Director of Insights and Analytics, PHD Canada

In 1726, Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver’s Travels was published in a safe and strictly edited form, but thankfully, this deeply satirical manuscript was published later in its original, unedited form in 1735. Gulliver, our travelling protagonist, observed strange and imagined countries, and at one point he was held prisoner by a race of tiny people he called the society of Lilliputians.

Almost daily, the media and marketing community encounters a “society” of consumers called the “millennials.” Here are a few recent headlines: (more…)


February 14th, 2017

Sean Goodall

Sean Goodall

Sean Goodall, Account Manager, The T1 Agency

Reaching a target audience through a well-known personality is not a new tactic for marketers, but where influencer marketing may seem familiar, the tactical application of it is what differs significantly and can ultimately lead to the success or the demise of a campaign.

EMarketer reported that 48% of brands plan to increase their influencer marketing spend in 2017; therefore knowing how to properly navigate these relationships is essential to the authentic integration of your brand within their content. (more…)


Older Posts »»

Aca Driving Marketing Success
  What's Up
 
 
29 mars 2017

Matthew Chung, directeur, Communications et contenus

Il y a 100 ans aujourd’hui, soit le 29 mars 1917, l’Association Canadienne des annonceurs devenait incorporée après avoir reçu ses lettres patentes.

Cette journée marquait un tournant important pour l’organisme fondé en 1914 lors d’une rencontre réunissant 11 annonceurs qui voulaient assainir les pratiques de l’industrie de la publicité de l’époque afin de favoriser l’implantation d’un marché transparent pour les consommateurs et équitable pour les annonceurs. (suite…)


23 mars 2017

Jonathan Davids

Jonathan Davids

Jonathan Davids, fondateur et chef de la direction, Influicity

Un utilisateur de YouTube dont vous n’avez jamais entendu parler pourrait constituer le meilleur porte-parole pour votre marque. Parlez-en à Jonathan Davids, fondateur et chef de la direction de Influicity, une plateforme à laquelle les annonceurs peuvent avoir recours pour trouver, collaborer et créer des campagnes avec des influenceurs des réseaux sociaux. Qu’est-ce qu’un influenceur, direz-vous? Ce sont des personnes allant du jeune dans la vingtaine dont les vidéos de bricolage sont suivis par 3 millions d’abonnés sur YouTube à un humoriste que suivent de très nombreuses personnes sur Vine, dont plusieurs vedettes d’Hollywood. L’essentiel est que leurs fans se fient sur eux – plutôt qu’aux marques – pour les conseiller dans leurs choix de produits.

Dans l’article qui suit, reproduit avec la permission de l’auteur, Jonathan Davids réfléchit à l’utilisation de plus en plus fréquente d’influenceurs en tant qu’ambassadeurs de marque et propose 4 pratiques à suivre à cet égard.

Revlon a fait les manchettes récemment en ajoutant de nouvelles recrues à son équipe d’ambassadeurs de prestige. Jusqu’à très récemment celle-ci regroupait des vedettes classiques et des gurus du monde des produits de beauté. L’entreprise a maintenant recruté une star de Disney et plusieurs utilisateurs de YouTube pour promouvoir les produits Revlon dans les médias traditionnels et les réseaux sociaux. Qu’est-ce que tous ces nouveaux porte-parole ont en commun? Un vaste public dans les réseaux sociaux.
(suite…)


2 mars 2017

Gavin McGarry

Gavin McGarry

Matthew Chung, directeur, Communications et contenus

De nos jours, les réseaux sociaux constituent, à juste titre, l’une des principales priorités des annonceurs. Cela dit, les règles d’engagement des réseaux principaux changent constamment.

Selon Gavin McGarry, président de Jumpwire Media, « On se retrouve comme en 1999, alors que toutes les marques se devaient d’avoir un site Web. Aujourd’hui, les marques doivent être plus présentes dans les réseaux sociaux, mais cela est plus facile à dire qu’à faire. »

Au cours d’un webinaire de l’ACA qu’il animait récemment, ce dernier a évoqué les défis et occasions présentés par les réseaux sociaux. Il a ensuite présenté une série de meilleures pratiques, d’informations et d’astuces que les participants pourraient utiliser pour améliorer leur stratégie. Quelques faits saillants de la discussion : (suite…)


23 février 2017

Rob Young

Rob Young

Rob Young, vice-président principal, directeur, Connaissance et analyse du marché, PHD Canada

En 1726 paraissait la première édition des Voyages de Gulliver de Jonathan Swift. Cette première version était présentée sous une forme très conservatrice après avoir subi d’importantes coupures. Heureusement, le manuscrit original de cette œuvre profondément satirique a finalement été publié en 1735. Le livre raconte les aventures de Gulliver, un voyageur qui explore des pays imaginaires tous plus étranges les uns que les autres, tel celui habité par ce qu’il appelle la société des Liliputiens – des hommes minuscules qui le font prisonnier.

Aujourd’hui, le milieu des médias et du marketing, est confronté par une « société » de consommateurs, les Milléniaux, qui – comme les Liliputiens – possèdent des caractéristiques imaginaires et mythiques. Voici quelques grands titres qu’on a pu lire récemment à leur sujet : (suite…)


14 février 2017

Sean Goodall, directeur de compte, The T1 Agency

Engager une personnalité pour s’adresser à un groupe cible particulier n’a rien de nouveau pour les annonceurs. Or, si on peut avoir l’impression d’être en terrain connu, l’application tactique du marketing d’influence diffère au point qu’elle peut entraîner le succès ou l’échec d’une campagne.

Le magazine eMarketer rapporte que 48 % des marques prévoient accroître leurs budgets consacrés au marketing d’influence en 2017. Il va donc sans dire que la gestion des relations avec les influenceurs est essentielle à la réussite de l’intégration de votre marque à leurs contenus.
(suite…)


Publications anciennes »»